MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

between

THE APPARATUS OF THE PARLIAMENT OF GEORGIA,

THE STAFF OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE REPUBLIC OF ARMENIA,

THE SECRETARIAT OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE REPUBLIC OF BELARUS,

THE SECRETARIAT OF THE COUNCIL OF THE REPUBLIC
OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE REPUBLIC OF BELARUS,

THE SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA.

THE SECRETARIAT OF THE VERKHOVNA RADA OF UKRAINE

The Apparatus of the Parliament of Georgia, the Staff of the National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia, the Secretariat of the House of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus, the Secretariat of the Council of the Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus, the Secretariat of the Parliament of the Republic of Moldova, the Secretariat of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, (hereinafter referred to as 'Parties')

With regard to individual and shared aspirations towards European integration, bearing in mind the importance of multilateral cooperation formats between the presented Eastern Partnership countries, recognizing the willingness to enhance regional cooperation between the administrations of our parliaments

Have reached, on 25 September 2018, in Tbilisi, Georgia, this Memorandum of Understanding (hereinafter referred to as 'The TBILISI Memorandum').

1. Objective

The objective of this Memorandum is to establish a network for cooperation and exchange of best practices between the Parties.

2. General Provisions

- 2.1 The Parties will strive to enhance their presence in thematic regional cooperation frameworks and further contribute to strengthening the partnership among themselves;
- 2.2 By signing the Tbilisi Memorandum, the Parties express their willingness to cooperate in areas related to promotion of successful regional cooperation, exchange of best practices and capacity building of their personnel.
- 3. Cooperation and Exchange of Best Practices
- 3.1 The Parties will set up a dedicated annual conference. The conference will aim to bring together Secretary Generals and relevant representatives of parliamentary administrations to address ongoing process of the cooperation.
- 3.2 The Parties will maintain the network of practitioners through sharing experience, supporting professional capacity building and participation in various thematic events aimed at finding the best solutions to current common challenges.
- 3.3 In order to ensure the proper implementation of this Memorandum, each Party shall appoint a person responsible for meeting its provisions.

4. Nature of the Memorandum

- 4.1 This Memorandum is a statement of intent to cooperate in a manner consistent with, and permitted by, the laws and requirements that govern the Parties.
- 4.2 This Memorandum is not intended to, and does not, (a) constitute in any way a binding or legal agreement, (b) impose any legal obligations or duties on the Parties or (c) confer any rights; it is without prejudice to any ongoing process under the EU integration and/or neighbourhood policy.
- 4.3 This Memorandum does not supersede bilateral arrangements of any cooperation established outside the given framework.
- 4.4 The Parties commit their best effort to follow the spirit of this Memorandum when developing cooperative measures.
- 5. Entry into Force, Period of Validity and Expiration of the Memorandum
- 5.1 This Memorandum is concluded for an unlimited period of time and shall come into force on the date of its signature by all Parties.
- 5.2 Each Party may withdraw from the Memorandum by giving at least 30 calendar days prior written notice to Parties.
- 5.3 Cooperation and exchange of information in accordance with this Memorandum will continue until the expiration of 30 days after the withdrawing Party gives prior notice.

The Memorandum has been drawn up in six identical copies, each Party will have one copy of the text in English language.

Signed in Tbilisi on 25 September 2018.

for the Apparatus of the Parliament of Georgia

Givi MIKANADZE, Secretary General



for the Staff of the National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia

Ara SAGHATELYAN, Chief of Staff - Secretary General

for the Secretariat of the House of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus

Galina YURKEVICH, Secretary General

for the Council of the Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus

Aleksander SLOBODCHUK, Secretary General

for the Secretariat of the Parliament of the Republic Moldova

Ala POPESCU, Secretary General

for the Secretariat of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine

Petro BODNAR, Acting Secretary General